What I Got for My Birthday!

So I just celebrated my birthday on the first week of March but I’ve been quite busy that I couldn’t blog about it. The fact is, being a hermit, I don’t celebrate my birthday by going out for drinks with friends or hosting a huge bash.

cake

It was a fairly quiet celebration for my 33rd birthday. My mom got me a cake and made noodles for everyone (I’m Asian, noodles represent long life). This birthday extra special for me this is the first time I got a cake from my mom as an adult. I know raving over a cake might be weird for some but hey, girlfriend’s getting old and emotional, hahaha!

For the boyf and I’s twin birthday celebration, we checked in at Marco Polo Ortigas. I will blog about the experience soon!

Photo 03-04-2016, 12 24 32 PM

So! Each year, I give myself an awesome gift because no one knows what I really want more than me. And I happen to be a thoughtful gift-giver!

This year, I decided to get the Louis Vuitton Kensington. The purse comes in just one size, which is the middle between a PM and an MM. I realized that my Speedy is too massive for an everyday bag. Seriously, I got the Speedy 30 and lawrd, that thing is like a black hole. The Kensington is perfect for malling because I can put all my essentials plus extra room for other goodies.

Now, I know this is a pricey bag and I don’t want to look like I’m posting this purchase to brag, I’m not. I’m just happy to get the bag that I like and I’m documenting the experience. I literally saved up for months to get this bag and waited for this day to come.

Here is Ms. K:

Photo 06-04-2016, 7 52 39 AM

Isn’t she lovely? I have to admit it wasn’t really love at first sight. Up until two weeks before getting the bag, I was planning on purchasing the Turenne in PM. But I decided against the Turenne because I wanted something in Damier Ebene. I thought I made a great choice!

Photo 03-04-2016, 12 57 53 PM

I love how sturdy the bag feels and how it holds its shape very well when in use. I also adore the smooth, dark brown handles, the DE print, and the hardware. I wish the bag comes with a clasp of some sort so it can close completely but I also like the convenience of an open bag when I am in a rush.

Photo 03-04-2016, 12 56 00 PM

The interior of the bag is wrapped in soft, suede-like microfiber in tan. Honestly, I prefer the classic red interiors of the DE but I don’t mind the tan either. Inside is a zipped partition that’s not stitched at the bottom.

Photo 03-04-2016, 12 55 05 PM

The bag comes with a shoulder strap, which is great if you don’t like holding the bag by the handles.

Photo 03-04-2016, 12 54 30 PM

I’m a tiny Asian at 5’2 so the Kensington is a wee bit too big for my body frame. This is a non-issue for me because I like medium-sized bags. My Speedy looks huge when I use it and I don’t mind one bit!

Contrary to what other users say, the bag is not as lightweight as expected. It’s not that big of a deal for me because I don’t carry a lot of things in my bag every day but this is something to consider.

Photo 03-04-2016, 12 56 21 PM

The sides of the bags feature a snap on closure so you expand the bag.

Photo 03-04-2016, 12 57 02 PMPersonally, I don’t expand the bag because the bag’s top is wide enough that I can put larger items with ease.

Also, if you plan to put a lot of things, the bag won’t be able to retain its shape! The top kinda warps when you fill the bag to the brim. I love how I don’t have to worry about the leather handles because they are not made with vachetta or the delicate cream leather trim on LV monos. I don’t have to worry about using the bag when it is raining because the treated leather won’t be stained.

Photo 03-04-2016, 12 55 18 PM

The bag features a “V” shaped hardware, which I gotta say, made the item at least 10 times as luxe.

Photo 03-04-2016, 12 59 58 PM

I’m not the kind to baby my bags to be honest. I purchase bags and use them a lot so they have to be built like tanks. As much as I love my Speedy, the delicate vachetta is affecting the user experience.

Photo 06-04-2016, 7 53 27 AM

I’ve used that bag like, a dozen of times and I couldn’t help but notice several water stains on the handles and strap. That’s why I bought those stupid handle wraps because I was worried that the leather won’t get an even patina if I kept using it naked. I suppose delicate bags like Chanel or Balenciaga is out of the question for me, hahaha!

Photo 06-04-2016, 7 53 59 AM

As far as customer service at LV Greenbelt is concerned, I thought the staff members were pretty nice. They kept asking me for iced tea, coffee, or water when I was trying out the bags.

My SA, Ana, is such a sweetheart! She said my giddiness was very infectious as she eagerly showed the other bags I requested. I heard that there were some customers that came across snooty SAs in PH. Luckily, I did not have the same problem at all. I told Ana that I will be back to get the Adele wallet through her.

Photo 06-04-2016, 7 55 13 AM

Overall, what a happy purchase. This is my second LV bag and I’ve already used it a couple of times. Very satisfied with my choice 😀 Next year, I will be getting the Alma BB in DE also, but I plan to get it in Dubai or Japan.

 

