Review: Biore Aqua Rich Watery Essence Sunscreen SPF 50

One of the things I cannot live without is a sunblock. I make it a point to slather sunscreen every day and more frequently when I’m on the beach. Using sunscreen religiously months after my last trip to the beach, I’m so fair that my concealers no longer match my current skin color!

I’m very particular about sunscreen formula and I’m always game when it comes to hunting down the perfect formula.

For me, the perfect sunblock formula is a light, easy to absorb formula preferably in gel form. It must have at least an SPF of 50 and it shouldn’t feel sticky at all. Bonus points if it lengthens the wear of my makeup or if it hydrates my perpetually dry skin!

Photo 9-1-15, 4 35 20 PM

Now, my requirements are pretty simple but to be quite honest, I haven’t found one sunblock that really ticks these requirements off my list until I tried Biore’sย Aqua Rich Watery Essence Sunscreen SPF 50!

Photo 9-1-15, 4 36 39 PM

Now, I had this bottle for a long time. I bought it after getting theย Sunkiller Perfect Water Essence SPF 50ย simply because I wanted to compare the formulas. But I’ve only been using it recently and am sorta kicking myself for not using it sooner!

I thought Sunkiller’s formula was amazing! It was not perfect (it leaves a weird shine on my face), but it’s the closest thing to my idea of a perfect formula. I thought Biore’s formula is similar because they look and felt identical when applied. Hell, they even smell the same. But boy, was I wrong!

Photo 9-16-15, 1 43 58 PM

For one thing, Biore’s sunblock is lighter, more fast-absorbing. My dry to combination skin just drinks the non-greasy gel so fast! It’s more moisturizing compared to Sunkiller’s sunscreen and it dries down to a true matte, powdery finish. No weird shine!

What won me over was the lightness of the formula. I thought Sunkiller’s formula was already light, but Biore is even better. It feels like nothing at all. This product is definitely not your ordinary sunblock!

I don’t think this sunblock lengthens the wear of my base, but I like how the product preps my skin for makeup. It leaves the skin powdery matte but with just a slight tackiness for the makeup to stick to.

Photo 9-5-15, 3 13 52 PM

Overall, I am amazed at this product! Everything about it is perfect including the price and the amount of product you get from it. It’s 50 ML for PhP400+. I thought that’s a fair price considering how an average high-end sunblock costs thousands of pesos per 30 ML. I don’t feel short-changed at all.

If you’re looking for an extremely lightweight sunscreen that protects without the usual white cast, your search ends here. I know this sunscreen is something I will keep repurchasing until I find a better formula!

