Review: MAC Look in A Box All About Plum

I know it’s been a little quiet over here, girlfriend’s still trying to find balance between work and leisure, hahaha! Obvs, I can’t. Anyway, I mentioned two blogs ago that the stuff I ordered at the Nordstrom Anniversary Sale has arrived and two of them are the MAC’s Look in a Box in Plum and Beige, both are part of their Fall season collection.

look in a box

Initially, I wanted to get the Plum one because I haven’t done real damage to last year’s MAC Illustrated Face Kit by Rebecca Moses and it was very similar to this year’s LIAB in Beige. But I decided to pick up both because I have no self control I found myself using the Illustrated Face Kit almost everyday, another palette in similar color scheme as backup wouldn’t hurt.

Photo 9-25-14, 9 25 30 PM

I loved the Plum one because it has a lot of unique colors. Also, I started using a lot of steel greys on my eyes recently and this particular set has a couple of grey-ish shadows. Below is a breakdown of all the eye, face and lip colors in the kit:

Eyeshadows

  • Elementary Pink (satin)
  • Stormy Sunset (satin)
  • Lingering Dusk (frost)
  • Blackboard (frost)
  • Fashion Beat (lustre)
  • All Races (matte

Powder Blushes

  • Style Cast (satin)
  • Lesson in Love (satin)

Lipsticks

  • Dress to Impress (amplified)
  • Up The Amp (amplified)

The MAC Look in a Box in Plum is very cool-toned but I think the colors are wearable even to neutral to warm-toned gals like myself. I couldn’t find any decent reviews to both palettes except the ones by Temptalia and she basically said both palettes sucked. I read it a couple of weeks before I was to get my palettes and you can imagine my disappointment.

Out of the two LIAB sets, the All About Plum fared better in Temptalia’s ratings. I do think the pigmentation across the board is great! Between the two, The Plum kit is definitely better because the eyeshadows are somewhat less stiff or dry. Here’s a couple of looks I did. I know they don’t look much but my camera does suck so take that into account:

Photo 9-26-14, 3 25 35 PM Photo 9-27-14, 2 06 45 PM

Two looks, one for daytime and the other, drama eyes for night 😉

Photo 10-9-14, 12 07 33 PM

*Updated: I added another shameless selfie, this time wearing everything from the kit. The blush and lip color are the ones in the lower section of the set.I think the blush isn’t as pigmented, it didn’t show up properly on my skin, it looked like a bronzer, hahaha! 

My favorite eye shadows from the set are Lingering Dusk (third on the top row) and Stormy Sunset (middle of bottom row)! On the eyes, they look absolutely divine. You can do a lot of looks with this set. As for the blush, I like both but the one on the top is my fave.

Overall, I really dig this set, like I knew I would, hahaha! It’s a lovely palette to have especially if you’re travelling. My only gripe is the duo blush. They should’ve stuck with a single shade like they did with the Illustrated Face Kit rather than giving two in teeny tiny pans! You’ll have to use a smaller blush brush because the pans are so tiny!

