Review: Smashbox Studio Pro Brush Set

You remember how I went on and on about Smashbox’s offers at the recently concluded Nordstrom Anniversary sale right? Well, finally, all the stuff I ordered has arrived. They were pretty late because of Manila’s growing port problems but who cares, I got my stuff!

Photo 9-29-14, 7 27 16 PM

One thing that I noticed while waiting for my Nordstrom haul is the lack of reviews about the brushes. I have used these babies several times now and I can say with utter honesty that the quality is there. Sure, the handles are made from cheap plastic, but the brushes themselves are super soft, they don’t lose their shape after the initial wash, and they pick up products and blend splendidly.

Photo 9-29-14, 7 20 48 PM

The brush set is comprised of ten professional brushes:

  • Foundation Brush
  • Blush Brush
  • Fan Brush
  • Crease Brush
  • Shader Brush
  • Concealer Brush
  • Bent Eyeliner Brush
  • Lip brush
  • Dual-ended Full Exposure brush
  • Slanted Brow Brush

My only gripe is that the blush brush is rather tiny. It could probably work better as a contour brush because the tiny brush fit so well on the hollows of my cheeks.

The duo brush seen on Smashbox’s Full Exposure is an excellent dupe for the MAC 217, btw. The 217 is fluffier but the shape between two brushes are extremely similar. Check out the comparison below:

Photo 9-29-14, 7 24 18 PM
MAC 217 on the left, Smashbox duo brush on the right

Photo 9-29-14, 7 24 23 PM

I have the Full Exposure palette and I am so happy I have a backup of this duo-ended brush! It’s just a joy to use and was one of the reasons why I got this set to begin with. Overall, I am super happy that I got this brush set. It was definitely worth the wait. I can’t wait what brush sets Smashbox will come up with this holiday season!

