Review: LUSH Karma Soap

I’ve never given artisanal soaps much thought. I mean, I like souped up soaps loaded with essentials oils and whatnot but I’m also okay with my Dove soap and shower gels. But since I started developing a serious crush on LUSH, I decided to pick a couple of things, another face spritzer and the karma bar soap.

Truth be told, I know shit about the brand except it’s the one with the strong scent emanating from its mall store, right across The Body Shop store, which I’m more familiar with. The choices were vast and I had no idea where to start so I asked the sales rep which ones are the bestselling  variants. She quickly told me that Karma soap is their top soap. It’s also one of their most expensive at around PhP 450 per 100g.

Youch.

Well, I’m on a bath products kick anyway so I told her to cut me off a slice, threw in a  spritzer and I was off. Here’s what Lush USA has to say about the Karma bar:

00701

“An all-time classic, Karma is the ultimate LUSH scent. Spicy patchouli is complemented with refreshing lemongrass, orange oil and pine oil to create a clean and lovely smell that lasts on the skin for ages after you’ve washed. One whiff and you’ll be hooked – for this life and the next. There’s enough Karma fragrance in each bar to perfume your whole body each time you wash, and transport you back to the days of free love and flower power. Give yourself good Karma; if you’ve been mindful and brimming with loving kindness, this is the soap to reward you.”

Pineing for Karma: Known for its refreshing green scent, Aromatherapists use pine oil for its cleansing and antiseptic qualities.

Lovely lavendin: Lavendin oil is used in our Karma range, from soap to fragrance and hair care. It helps to soothe the skin and promote a calmer mood.

Good Karma: Due to customer demand, we’ve created an entire range so you can wash, bubble and bathe in Karma from head to toe.

Right. For me it was love at first sniff. If it weren’t for my love for choices, I would totally buy more of the Karma soap simply because the smell is divine. Unless you hate patchouli. Or orange. The scent is multi-layered, I would say. It just leaves a beautiful scent on the skin and on the bath. The minute I walk into my bathroom, I am met with an invigorating smell of lavender, orange and patchouli, it’s just fabulous!

karma

I typically go all fancy in my second shower of the day and with the Karma soap, bath time became an amazing indulgence. However, while I am absolutely crazy over the scent, this soap does not lather easily. If you want serious foam, use a scrubbie. Rub the soap all over the scrubbie puff and then work a lather. if you simply rub the soap on wet skin, all you get is slickness of the soap, none of the lather. I suppose because this soap has a lot of essential oils? I dunno.

Ironically, this is not moisturizing either. I know, it’s supposed to be packed with essential oils but for some weird reason, this does not translate to the texture of my skin after showering. In fact, my skin is so squeaky clean that it felt like I used a regular soap. Overall, I will repurchase this soap if only for the scent (seriously contemplating on hunting the perfume version of this soap).

 

 

