Clinique 3-Step System

I developed the hobby of buying loads of eyeshadow palette in the recent months that I kinda forgot to adjust my skin care regimen to my newfound love, putting on makeup. I thought I was doing enough to take care of my skin but I failed at the most basic of skin care, proper cleansing. The result, I dealt with a hailstorm of zits on weird parts of my face, something that I never had to contend with before. So with mug in shambles, I had to stop being such a cheapskate and invest on a really effective facial cleansing regimen that will rescue my skin from all the abuse.

IMG_5584[1]

I was torn between Khiel’s products and Clinique’s 3-Step Skin Type Cleansing and through I loved Khiel’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate, it just wasn’t enough. And at PhP2,800 per bottle, I would expect it to give me the kind of moisture I needed to keep my skin hydrated without using additional products. But alas, as much as it helped soften my skin, my face feels dry almost immediately after I cleanse my face and I was using a mild cleanser. My parched skin needs something more hydrating, emollient without turning my face into a grease-fest.

So I chose Clinique’s 3-Step system instead. I bought a sampler kit where I get a cleanser, a toner and a moisturizer in deluxe sample sizes. It took me a while to get the sample kit because Clinique Megamall was not carrying sample sizes before and they were pushing for the full-sized products. I had my reservations about buying for the full sizes so I waited until they have the sample trio, which they finally carried when I dropped by their store last week.

IMG_5588[1]

I’ve been on the Clinique 3 Step system for more than a week and while it’s too early to figure out anything, I can say my skin is softer and so much brighter than it was before. I love the mild cleanser because it doesn’t sting my eyes and it is not drying at all. The scent is also fabulous!

As for the toner, it’s pretty good though I was quite surprised that it’s alcohol-based. Not something I expected but I’m no stranger to alcohol-based toners and this one’s working great so I don’t have any problems with it at all. The tingly sensation you get after you spread the toner across the face ย really “wakes up” the skin and it’s refreshing and not drying at all.

The star product of Clinique is the Dramatically Different Moisturizing lotion and I got the reformulated version, which is a gel moisturizer that’s light on the skin and unscented. I love how it really goes deep and hydrates my skin but once applied, it sits on top of the face for a while longer rather than being absorbed by the skin immediately. The result, it makes the skin a bit tacky so if you hate that sticky feeling that won’t go away fast enough, this might not be the best moisturizer for you. What I do to minimize the slick feeling is I massage my skin for several seconds so the lotion is absorbed much quicker as opposed to letting it sit on the face too long.

The tackiness doesn’t really matter to me as long as I get super hydrated skin, which is something the Dramatically Different Moisturizing Lotion does. And does so well. You know I live for awesome moisturizers and I love this!

I’ve been using the set for 2 weeks and this is at the height of my being hormonal. On top of the occasional zits that popped on my forehead because of the hormones, my skin is going through purging as it adjusts to the new products I’m using. I got several zits on my left cheek which was gone in two days or less. The effects on my skin is clear:

  • Plumper, more supple skin
  • Refined skin texture
  • Totally brightened my complexion
  • Smoother skin
  • Excellent hydration

Incredibly, even the fine lines on the finger I used to apply the moisturizer seem to have disappeared temporarily. It’s really a great moisturizer ๐Ÿ™‚ So overall, I see myself investing on the full sized toner, cleanser and moisturizer. I do suggest you get the sampler set first because you don’t want to spend thousands on expensive skin care products only to get loads of zits the morning after.

