Essence Long Lasting Eye Pencil

Yeah, I know I said I won’t be posting any beauty-related stuff anytime soon but I was so pleased with last night’s drugstore haul that I just want to spread the word about it.

drugstore

So, I was bored out of my mind yesterday so I decided to surprise the boyf with a new backpack (his old one is getting rattier, that’s why). But before I bought the bag, I had a look-see at Watson’s because I need a new eyeliner. I have grown tired of waiting for Digital Traincase to stock up on the Milani LiquidEYES liners so I scoured aisle after aisle looking for a really good eyeliner that’s 1) inexpensive 2) has smooth, creamy texture and 3) won’t budge. I found the perfect eyeliner in Essence Real Long Lasting Eye Pencil.

drugstore2

Essence is a German cosmetics brand. A little search online and I learned it’s basically one of Germany’s most popular drugstore brands.  I heard some of their products are a hit or miss so take that for what it is.

I swatched several liners on my hand and let it set for a minute. Once set, I rubbed each swatch vigorously and they hardly budged. Perfect! These babies are so cheap, I bought four liners in one go, two black liners, a brown one and a green one because I love a little green around the eyes!

image

I tested the black liner, which was so velvety smooth, it did not tug at my lids as I glide it on. In terms of the formula, this is fantastic. It’s similar to Milani’s eyeliner, they have the same smoothness and creaminess. My only gripe is, it smudges like hell. I seriously did not see this because when I swatched it and it won’t come off, I thought I found the best cheap liner there is. But yes, it does migrate to your lower lid within a few hours of wear. I wore mine for a little under three hours and damn, it wasn’t a pleasant sight at all. I have very dry skin and  really don’t think I have oily lids at all so I’m not quite sure what happened.

Good thing this is easily solved with a pat of powder. You can avoid smudging by adding a bit of similar-colored eye shadow on top of the liner OR translucent power, so it sets quickly and won’t slide all over your lids. I’ve yet t try this but I will let you know how it’ll go.

image

Overall, I love the formula of the Essence Long Lasting Eye Pencils! It goes on smooth as butter and the color payoff is amazing. However, apart from the black liner, the other two liners I got (brown and green) are not as long lasting so if you want to veer away from the basic black liner, keep this in mind. I wish it doesn’t smudge as much though. While there are ways to keep them from sliding off the lids (primer or with a light dusting of eyeshadow/powder), the extra step is a bummer especially for lazy folks like me, hahahah!

I will be reviewing ZA moisturizer on my next post. I think this is a dupe to the popular Hada Labo moisturizers. Been only using this for a couple of days so performance-wise, it’s too early to tell anything.

