2011: The Year in Review

It’s that time of the year where I round up all the wonderful, wonderful events of the year past and cram ’em into a single post.

2011: I have to admit I was in a bad place for the first and second quarter of 2011. I’m not gonna go as far and say I went to hell and back. Dealing with a lot of issues including cutting off certain people in my life, this year brought a lot of headaches, heartaches and for the most part, financial problems.

But I’m not complaining, far from it. In fact, I’m glad things unfolded the way they did. With trials come lessons and you can bet I learned a lot. It made realize that sacrificing your own principles for the happiness of another is stupid. It made me realize that good intentions do not amount to good action. I also learned that giving up on someone does not necessarily mean you failed, it means that when it’s not worth your time, it definitely ain’t worth your time.

2011 have little highs and a lot of lows. This is actually a heavily edited post because it was dangerously close to being a rant.

Lows included experiencing the worst birthday of my life. I had someone throw his gift at me just because he felt like it. I had someone throw a pussy fit just because I went out to celebrate my birthday with mutual friends for godknowswhatreason. I found myself being with someone who’s not only insanely manipulative, but mostly insane. I also lost a massive amount of cash thanks to certain circumstances I’d rather not say. I was not only poor; I also got fat, which was ironic. To sum it all up, the first half of the 2011 wasn’t exactly kind. In fact, it was a fucking nightmare.

Fortunately, I got my shit together just in time to end the year right. I finally came to my senses and got rid of the source of my misery. And from there, things have been awesome. My only regret is that I wasn’t able to give my sister the proper sendoff she deserves because apparently, there’s someone who’s a much bigger drama queen that night and he didn’t want to be upstaged.

Well it wasn’t all doom and gloom. My highs included an otherwise smooth-sailing job, face time with friends I haven’t seen in a while and of course, the love and support of my family. 2011 marked the year I introduced the boyfriend to most of my family as well and it was awesome 😀 They love him to bits! So despite a very bad start, the ending was great so all’s well that ends well. That said, I’m not exactly sorry to see the year off.

2012: I’m positive things will keep getting better. I’ve got a great job that I love, relationship-wise, I’m in a much better place with friends and family. I have a really excellent boyfriend and I’m positive that this is gonna be the best year ever. I do plan to save up tons of monies for the future (who knows, maybe start a biz or buy a car) and also, to make sensible food choices. In fact, the boyf and I started jogging together and it was surprisingly fun! Here’s to an awesome 2012! Cheers!

