Being Socially Awkward

Working from home certainly has its benefits. For one thing, I can wake up and start working any time I want. I can also work in my PJs, hell, I can work buckassnekkid if I want to and no one’s gonna care because I work from home, bitch. However, being confined to a single space far too long does have its ill effects as well. In my case, being socially awkward.

Now, I’m not saying I used to be the life of the part or anything of that sort. I’m just saying living under a rock for the better part of the year got me all rusty when it came to interacting with my fellow human beings (though I consider my fat, lazy cat Dimitwi as human… because he is).

Case to point, l attending my boyfriend’s friend’s christening last Sunday and I was sorta stressing over it weeks before. It’s supposed to be me being “launched” as the boyf’s girlfriend.

Well, it’s not like I want to make an effort for people to like me and I never had to because I generally don’t give a shit what people have to say buuuuut I also wanted to make a good impression. Unfortunately, my current lifestyle did not help my cause.

You know that feeling you get when you go to a party and you don’t know how to dance only to realize too late there’s a giant fucking dancefloor in the middle of the bar you are supposed to go and you are forced to dance? Yeah, that feeling.

“Pa-virgin Effect Activated”

Ayun. You should’ve seen me man, you’d never recognize me, hahahaha! I was all adorable and well behaved like my cute nieces. I hate to admit it but sadly, I’m hopelessly awkward when it comes to social gatherings then and more so now.

I rarely attend events like these even when I know everyone so it’s doubly anxiety-inducing if you get to attend one where you don’t know anyone. Ako pa naman, I rarely talk to strangers much more start a conversation with one so literally, nagsa-panda ako. Meaning, I just sat there like a giant stuffed panda.


Not this panda, obviously

Anyhoo, it seems I’ll be finding myself doing this more and more. It appears I’m in a relationship with a social butterfly that has more friends than I have relatives and I’m Chinese.

